National Control Needed over the Institute of Public Affairs

I needn’t have spent time and energy on my last post about mini-me Kevin Donnelly clone Roskam. Lynn Sunderland’s letter in the AGE today, says it all.

Roskam should come to class some time

I AM heartily sick of working in a profession that seems to be fair game for every tin-pot little conservative ideologue. This
time it is John Roskam’s turn to assert (Opinion, 11/10) that I work in a book-free zone where all morals are relative and my students divide their time between television and playing computer games.

Perhaps Roskam would like to stand in front of my students and repeat these comments. Could be good for a laugh! On Wednesday alone, my English classes covered everything from spelling and grammar to Jack the Ripper, the influence of Napoleon on European thinking and the Spanish Civil War, across authors as diverse as Malouf, Ibsen, Defoe, Chekhov, Danny Katz and Shakespeare. Yes, Shakespeare!

I wonder if Roskam would like to come home from a hard day at work spent thinking up new ways to insult English teachers, only to find that I have written a column pleading the urgent need for national control over the Institute of Public Affairs on the basis that he and his colleagues spend their time with their feet up on the desk, flicking rubber bands at the ceiling and throwing darts at their Chairman Mao dartboard.

He may well conclude that I know as little about his workplace as he knows about mine.

Lynn Sunderland, Lyonville

Leave a Reply

