What we really teach

I attended the opening of an exhibition of art created by staff at my school on Friday night. It’s a night I always enjoy, and it’s always surprising and reviving to see this other side to the persona I know at school.  The work was great as usual but I also took away something from David Williams from Camberwell Grammar who launched the exhibition.

He spoke about the quality of the art and the nature of teachers to give and to create, and how great it was that these teachers kept that side of themselves alive. He also said that just as artists paint who they are, teachers teach who they are.  I liked that.

Leave a Reply

