Scott McLeod blogging about leadership


One of the magazines that makes its my way to the giant pile on my desk that I actually look forward to is the American magazine Learning and Leading with Technology, published by the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE).

In the November 2007 issue which just made it to the top of the pile, Dr Scott McLeod explains why he blogs about educational leadership including:

I blog about leadership because someone has to bang the drum and say “Pay attention to the leaders! Pay attention to the leaders!”

McLeod

McLeod (pictured above with a pile of gadgets that looks remarkably like my desk!) is the director of the UCEA Center for the Advanced Study of Technology Leadership in Education (CASTLE) (nice acronym but perhaps not totally suitable to the model of leadership I’m after!)¬† The short article points to three interesting websites: the CASTLE site at Iowa State University and two of McLeod’s own blogs, Dangerously Irrelevant and Leader Talk. All three sites are worth checking out; I’m even going to add one to my Bloglines subscription; that’s commitment for you!

3 comments

  1. Warrick, I’m working on a compilation of the best articles from the past 5 years of L&L, and I’d love for you and your readers to visit me and nominate your favorite articles. (I’m going to count this post as a nomination for Scott’s piece.)

    http://bestofll.blogspot.com

    Also, as someone who worked on the L&L staff for 12 years, it does my heart good to read that you like it so much!

  2. Definitely count that in as a vote for McLeod’s work.

    And I’ll take a look at the bestofll site. What a good idea to try to recognise some of the best work over the last few years and maybe even give some of that work a bit more longevity and currency.

Leave a Reply

