TeacherTube My Site

I use TeacherTube now and then, mainly because it’s not blocked at my school, so I was interested to see this week a new possibility,  TeacherTube My Site. The idea here is that you can use the TeacherTube site to create you own branded school site, no ads, your own content securely in your environment.

It’s been something I’ve been interested in for  a while: an easy way for users within the school to share content they’ve created (video, audio, text) with the school in an interface that made sense, was searchable, attractive and just worked, and worked within the school network.

It seems pretty expensive at $5000US for 1000 users, and I’m not sure it would handle audio and text at all. Apple Itunes offers a similar thing for audio and maybe video? with ItunesU The first company to bring this together in a unified way for schools will do well.

3 comments

  1. Warrick
    Thanks for the link here – its a perfect way to publsih things from the school and make the links on the school website – all for $99 U.S. a year for 20 people to upload [e.g. teachers] – thats reasonable.
    Is there a thought when you quote $5,000 for it to be private viewing area only?

    I do follow your blog – keep up the reflections I enjoy reading them: http://www.mwalker.com.au.
    Mark

  2. Thanks Mark; when you put it that way it’s not a bad deal. I was thinking of a scenario where every student could publish content, but if you funneled it through 20 key ‘uploaders’, teachers or student leaders, it’s very affordable and something I could see getting a lot of traction.

  3. Warrick

    If you get it up and as I said I am thinking about it seriously myself please keep me in the loop I would like to look at the content and talk about the processes you used. All good stuff!

Leave a Reply

