The Issues Book

issues_book_2010 (Large)

One of the things I’ve been involved in for a long time now, and one that I usually find reflects and connects well with my own teaching, is the co-writing of a text book for VCE English students. The new edition of The Issues Book, came out this week and I like the muted, subdued colours, and the production this year.

It’s published by Cengage and the co-writing of it always helps me to think back on what worked in my class this year, and what didn’t.  I think it was Ken Robinson who talked about giving students the ‘whole story’; science teachers should be passionate about science, English teachers should read and write, that kind of thing. Starting a blog is a powerful way of beginning that writing I’ve found.

Leave a Reply

