Professional Rejuvenation

I’ve found this a tough term in some ways, not so much the teaching, which I’ve continued to enjoy a lot, but it’s been pretty busy and constant, a cold winter and demanding changes needing constant attention, so it’s been difficult to have a chance to reflect and refresh; to step back and look at the view from 10,000 feet as David Allen from GTD puts it.

So, I was really looking forward to getting away from Melbourne for a couple of days to the Expanding Learning Horizons  Conference in Lorne which I’ve been to before and is usually interesting, stimulating and set in a beautiful landscape (see pic I took of Lorne Beach above, from the 2008 Conference).

So, I was really annoyed that, in a simple accident at school yesterday, I fractured my finger, which will need surgery early next week. So, no bike riding for a couple of months, ridiculously slow typing and no ELH this year.

I’ll be following the tweets and the blog postings with interest, but it’s not the same, and I’m not going to get that buzz of enthusiasm from being there  live.  Gotta admit that, right now, I feel flat as a tack.

4 comments

  1. Sorry to hear about the digit and the conference, Warrick. It would have been good to catch up and share what’s happening in our schools. I’m sure your finger will heal quickly although I can understand how frustrated you must feel. At least it didn’t happen in Spain! Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

