Ipad 2

Okay, I admit it, I want one.

I’ve been hanging  out for the duration of the Ipad based on the sage advice of many tech-head friends who proclaim solemnly; ‘thou shalt not buy version 1 of any Apple product’. And I listened. And in a couple of weeks I’m going to be grabbing version 2, though I am too dignified to sleep outside the Apple store before opening time.

But I DON’T think this going to transform education anytime soon. For my senior Literature class, with a Toshiba tablet-pc in front of them, the uber-cool ipad would, in fact, be a step backward in terms of pure technology. Sans keyboard for example. I played around iwth an Ipad travelling around Spain last  year, and it was a fantastic tool for that kind of thing, but I’d hate to write anything much longer than a recipe on it.

And there are a ton of implementation issues that go along with it too.

So I want one, and so do half my students probably. But I cant see it as becoming THE viable ongoing real tool that students use for creating content.  More likely I see the 1-1 going the way of the 1 to many. And that students (and teachers) will access their information and interact with it in a variety of ways, through ipads and slates, through smart phones and netbooks and through more traditional notebooks and even desktops.

And, when I actually want to start writing something anything longer than this blog post, I’m gonna want a keyboard to do it. A real one with springy touchy feedback; perhaps one of those lovely little Apple blue-tooth ones!  Unless someone invents voice-recognition that actually works! But don’t get me started on that.

One comment

Leave a Reply

