Last days

blossom

That time of year thou mayst in me behold …

Hard to believe it is that time of year as my senior class is coming up to their final few lessons, the last week of timetabled classes before the ‘swot-vac’ and (varying) degrees of intensive study.

Every year I try to improve what I do as a teacher with these students, each year I probably get more critical of myself about what I should have done, said, intervened or fed back at stages during the year, and what difference that might or might not have made.

I’m not doing a post-mortem yet. I’ve put in place a series of consultation times, some intensive sessions on key texts, some lunchtime ‘lit talks’ combined with the other class and some online revision sessions using Adobe Connect. There’s plenty of learning yet, but when you do complete that last timetabled class, which happens this week, no matter how much revision you’ve got organised, you do feel a door closes. You work hard as a teacher to establish a positive learning culture, to work with the personalties of the students to get something bigger and more powerful than themselves. And then, it’s done. Happens every year, about this time.

Photo: Blossom, by Warrick

One comment

  1. Love your last two lines Warrick, it is so true. I feel the same during the last weeks of prep each year. It’s a beautiful thing to work at a P-12 school; last Thursday ‘my’ 2001 Prep students came down to visit, all grown up into wonderful young adults. Teaching is such a rewarding profession.

Leave a Reply

