One teacher’s reflection on ‘No Child Left Behind’

Besides the obviously heart-felt and thoughtful nature of this teacher’s reflection of what its been like on the ground as a teacher in the USA under Bush’s ‘No Child Left Behind’ regime, I fear that we’re about to embark on the same sad journey of an emphasis on inflexible standards imposed from a long way away, league tables of schools (and teachers?), naming and shaming, de-skilling the profession, politicising the educational process and simplifying the education process into things that can be placed on an Excel spreadsheet.

Here’s what it feels like.

New ISTE Standards for Teachers

NETS the next generaltion

“Teachers must become comfortable as co-learners with
their students and with colleagues around the world. Today it is less
about staying ahead and more about moving ahead as
members of dynamic learning communities. The digital-age teaching
professional must demonstrate a vision of technology infusion and
develop the technology skills of others. These are the hallmarks
of the new education leader.”

—Don Knezek, ISTE CEO, 2008

The ISTE have just released a new set of standards for teachers and their leadership of technology. In summary, they are:

1. Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity
2. Design and Develop Digital-Age Learning Experiences and Assessments
3. Model Digital-Age Work and Learning
4. Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility
5. Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

The ISTE says:

ISTE’s National Educational Technology Standards (NETS) have served as a roadmap since 1998 for improved teaching and learning by educators. ISTE standards for students, teachers, and administrators help to measure proficiency and set aspirational goals for the knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed to succeed in today’s Digital Age. Our proven leadership in developing these benchmarks and providing guidance in implementing them has resulted in broad adoption of the ISTE standards in the U.S. and in several countries.

You can download the standards HERE, or directly to the PDF HERE